NaNoWriMo 2010: My challenge this year

NaNoWriMo 2010As almost any writer worth their stuff knows by now, NaNoWriMo – that is, National Novel Writing Month – is alive and a week in swing. The 50,000 words in 30 days challenge breaks the minds and backs of children to the elderly, all in a proof that yes, we can really sit down and be a dedicated writer.

Now, I write plenty of words each month, more than NaNo would require of me. It’s all for work, however, and I work so hard most days that I don’t even think about creative writing anymore. Well, that’s not entirely true – I do think about it sometimes, but I don’t do anything about it.

This year, NaNoWriMo isn’t so much to me about the word count, although that number acts as a great motivating factor (and gee wilikers I’m behind.) This year, NaNoWriMo is my challenge to spend time every day being a creative writer, to get those creative juices flowing, so that when I’m done, I can finally settle in to writing those books and novels and ideas I always neglect because I’m too busy.

To be honest, my story this year is completely silly. Well, it’s not as silly as it has been in previous years; rather, it really has little sense of direction and doubtfully will be anywhere near a decent story at all. It will probably stay in the scraps bin. But the best part is, I’ll finally be writing again, and it’s all worth the effort to get that in motion.

Are you participating in NaNoWriMo this year? If so, what’s your personal challenge?

Enhanced by Zemanta
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

