My favorite relaxation books

Calm
Image by Rickydavid via Flickr

The past few weeks have been very stressful, last week in particular – that’s why you haven’t heard much from  me lately. Today, as I try to get this week off to a good start, I thought I’d share with you my favorite “go to” books for relaxation and destressing.

Be Free Where You Are: To say this is a favorite is an understatement; I actually carry this little pocket book around with me in my purse. It is a very good and instant reminder to breathe, to be mindful, to be kind, to smile. I need those reminders from time to time, and cherish this book.

Radical Acceptance: Another personal favorite that I highly recommend to anyone. Written from a combined standpoint of psychology and Buddhism, this book helps teach you to embrace your life, your shortcomings included, with a loving acceptance. This book initially opened my eyes when I was first dealing with my anxiety diagnosis, and I turn to it from time to time still (in fact, I’m reading it bit by bit now).

Women Who Run With The Wolves: This book isn’t just for women, and admittedly, it is not fully “relaxing.” It is meant to wake you up out of where you are ‘stuck’ in life, draw you out, and get you moving again. However, I find it an incredible tool when something is stressing me so badly.

Any Poetry Book: Poetry is an instant soother for me, because it makes me stop to appreciate the imagery and think on meaning. It really doesn’t matter what the poetry is. Currently, I’ve got The Vintage Book of Contemporary World Poetry floating around (in fact, that volume usually sits in the stack of bathroom reading).

If you’re interested in checking any of these out, they’re all available in my still growing Amazon store, under non-fiction and poetry. I appreciate your support if you buy from me!

What are your favorite “peace of mind” books?

Enhanced by Zemanta
This entry was posted in reading and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My favorite relaxation books

  1. Sara Broers says:

    I love to read…Got to think about that a Peace of Mind Book~ I don’t think I have read one recently. Know that I don’t have one next to by bed…..Maybe I should be looking for one. A little relaxation never hurt anyone!

  2. Melody Jones says:

    I’ve not heard of any of these, but they all sound perfect. For me, just the act of reading in and of itself is relaxing. I do love The Creative License and An Illustrated Life, both by Danny Gregory. They are inspiring and get my mind off stuff!

Leave a Reply

